Sullivan and Orange Counties!

All five of the Tundra Swans that were present today, including one juvenile.

All five of the Tundra Swans that were present today while I was there, including one juvenile.

a pair of Tundra Swans in Orange County today.

a pair of Tundra Swans in Orange County today.

This morning I headed out in hopes of some new county birds. It was snowing and quite foggy, but I figured what the heck. I couldn’t have realized how productive a day it would be. My first good find of the morning was a drake LONG-TAILED DUCK on the Neversink Reservoir. From there I checked for the Redheads and Scaup, but couldn’t find them. It may have been due to limited visibility due to the snow, but they weren’t where they had been the last several days. I then headed up county further to try for RED-BREASTED NUTHATCH. It took some time, but I found a pair on the west side of the Neversink Reservoir. As I was headed down to check for the Red-breasted Merganser again, I got a call from Rob Stone informing me he had found a Snowy Owl and relocated the five TUNDRA SWANS Matt had found yesterday. (thanks Rob!) I zoomed down, joining Lisa O’Gorman, Ken McDermott and Pete Schyler, to have great looks at the birds. There was also a huge flock of Horned Larks which Judy Cinquina and Dennis Murphey informed us had three Lapland Longspurs among them. They also told us that fifteen more Tundra Swans had come in briefly, but took off again. The flock of Larks flew over us several times, but never touched down close enough for us to get good looks. I then got a call from Jim Carney (thanks Jim!)informing me there is a Rough-legged Hawk in Wurtsboro, so I zoomed up to get my county RLHK for the year. Great day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sullivan and Orange Counties!

  1. Stephen Davis says:

    Orange CO?

Leave a Reply

