Orange County Wednesday

my first Sharpie of the year.

my first Sharpie of the year.

One of the owls would sit along the field from time to time and had a tussle with a Northern Harrier there once.

One of the owls would sit along the field from time to time and had a tussle with a Northern Harrier there once.

One of the Short-eared Owls hunting at mid-day on a fogging morning.

One of the Short-eared Owls hunting at mid-day on a fogging morning.

Yesterday I spent the morning in Orange County. It was so fogged in until about 10:00 am that I couldn’t see anything. It then quickly lifted and I covered most areas of the Wallkill River Valley from Goshen to Oil City Road. I was pleased to see that geese had returned to the valley (last Wednesday I couldn’t find one!). Thousands were at the Camel Farm, but 45 minutes of scanning failed to produce anything other than Canadas. Oil City Road had some Harriers and Rough-legged Hawks. Indiana Road was by far the best stop. Horned Larks, 3 Harriers, 7 Rough-legged Hawks, 3 Red-tailed Hawks and 2 Short-eared Owls were actively hunting at 11:30 in the morning. I then went to 6 1/2 Station Road where I found little except my FOS SHARP-SHINNED HAWK. Upon my return to Sullivan I ran into Wilma Amthor who informed me she had seen a Scoter on the Mongaup Reservoir. Since the Bash was quiet, I headed up there. I didn’t find the scoter, but there were many birds far out on the reservoir that defied identification. Perhaps it was among them. I returned home via the Neversink River and immediately spotted the on-going Red-breasted Merganser.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

