Pine Island Turf Nursery – American Golden- Plovers

American Golden-plovers at the turf nursery

American Golden-plovers at the turf nursery

This morning Rob Stone called to let me know he had found four American Golden -Plovers at the turf nursery. I zoomed down to find they had flown from where he initially had them. I searched for nearly an hour before I found first two and then all four next to a tractor in the middle of a long thin field closer to the middle of the nursery. They were quite distant but discernible. Two were in breeding plumage and two were in juvenile/winter type plumage. Thanks to Rob for the heads up on these birds. Matt Zeitler and Trish were able to arrive and see the birds as well. I have attached a ridiculously cropped distant photo of two of the birds.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment