Bashakill, Linear Park and Gumaer Falls Road

male Blackpoll Warbler on the Nature Trail

male Blackpoll Warbler on the Nature Trail

Hooded Warbler by the foot bridge across from Orchard

Hooded Warbler by the foot bridge across from Orchard

This morning the Orchard/Stop Sign Trail and the Nature Trail were very active with the continuing arrival of warblers. I started at the Orchard where I found the male HOODED WARBLER back on territory just across the road near the foot bridge. Upon returning to the orchard side of the road I found a singing MOURNING WARBLER in the apple tree the Chestnut-sided Warbler has been hanging out in. In just moments, a singing male TENNESSEE WARBLER flew in singing as loud as it possibly could. All the other regular warblers were present as was a CANADA WARBLER. As I worked my way toward the parking area, more birds could be seen and heard. A second Canada Warbler, several Blackpoll Warblers and TWO more Tennessee Warblers were right in the lot. Further out on the Stop Sign Trail I had my county FOS WILLOW FLYCATCHER. I had a total of 12 warbler species at this stop. On to the Nature Trail. It too was quite active. I managed 13 species here, nice diversity, but no Tennessee or Mourning. Canada, Blackpoll and Magnolia Warblers were the highlights. Out in the marsh, birds were very active this morning. A Pied-billed Grebe and 4 Gallinule were calling constantly. As I turned to leave the board walk, I was thrilled to hear a SORA call in the marsh. On to Linear Park. Here, Chestnut-sided, Yellow, Louisiana Waterthrush, Common Yellowthroat and Blue-winged Warblers were seen as were a few Indigo Buntings. The highlight was my FOS ALDER FLYCATCHER. On to Gumaer Falls Road. Blackburnian, Black-throated Green and Black and White Warblers were seen. Here I had my FOS ALDER FLYCATCHER. Not a bad morning with 19 species of warbler seen in all.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bashakill, Linear Park and Gumaer Falls Road

  1. Wilma Amthor says:

    I don’t know how I missed this post…these are great, John!!!

    Wilma

Leave a Reply

