A Bashakill Peregrine

Peregrine Falcon

Peregrine Falcon

Peregrine Falcon

Peregrine Falcon

Peregrine Falcon

Peregrine Falcon

Peregrine Falcon at the Bashakill feeding on a female Wood Duck

Peregrine Falcon at the Bashakill feeding on a female Wood Duck

This afternoon I went out again for a couple of hours. It is so busy at the Bash at this time of year, I can’t pull myself away. I was glad I went back out. In Westbrookville near the Deli Fields I found a PEREGRINE FALCON!! The raptor had just killed a duck and was busy plucking and eating it. It was preoccupied with its catch and cooperated for an entire series of photos. I called Scott Baldinger who came right over and got to see the show. Finally, nearly twenty minutes later, following several cars passing the field, the bird flew to a nearby tree. Scott and I departed, leaving him to return to his feast. As near as I could tell from the feathers, I believe the bird was a female Wood Duck. Since I couldn’t pick my favorite of the photos, you get to see the best four shots. By the way, this is my third Peregrine at the Bashakill this spring, and yes, they were all different birds. Further study of my shots confirm what I discussed with Scott earlier. The paleness of the head with apparent feathers still coming in combined with the wide vertical streaking on breast indicate this is a sub-adult bird.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Bashakill Peregrine

  1. What a beautiful bird! Great shots John, they really show all the wonderful details on this bird. I wish I was there to see that!

  2. Matt, Thanks! It was pretty neat. What a hawk season we are experiencing! I never know what I will run into when I go out. Best, John

  3. Jeff Nicol says:

    Great photos John. Not often you see such a close up of this bird in photos. Looks like you were in the right place at the right time!

  4. scott says:

    Great photos! One of the best up close looks I’ve had at a Peregrine in a long time. After looking at my bird guides, I see what you mean by the pale head and and wide streaking on the breast making it a young bird. I was so excited that I went home to get Paula so she could see it. The bird had not left the tree so she was able to get a nice look at it. What a treat! Thanks for the call!
    Scott

  5. bill fiero says:

    Fine, fine shots. All kinds of things up there.

Leave a Reply

