Another great day at the Bashakill

Cackling Goose at the Camel Farm 3/4/13

Cackling Goose at the Camel Farm 3/4/13

Peregrine Falcon on Haven Road 3/5/13

Peregrine Falcon on Haven Road 3/5/13

A beautiful day today resulted in my spending lots of time hiking around the Bashakill. Highlights of the water fowl included Common Goldeneye, Wood Ducks, Bufflehead, Ring-necked Ducks and all the commonly expected water fowl for this early in the year. Five Bald Eagles were present today, three immatures keeping the ducks in constant turmoil. Late in the day, tremendous numbers of blackbirds passed through the Bash. As I waited for sunset, Lance Verderame came by and we watched all the activity from Haven Road. Lance noticed a bird flying in from the right, calling out “falcon”. The bird flew right into our area and landed on a pole just a short distance from us. The Peregrine Falcon posed nicely. The bird was perched just across from my car. I decided to go for my camera and the bird never moved. He posed for several shots before taking off and dive bombing the ducks and geese. It continued toward the south end of the Bash. Since it was nearly sunset, the bird may be around tomorrow. Lance left and I headed to the Deli Fields where I had my first two American Woodcock of the season. Nice day. Though I didn’t post yesterday, I did visit the Camel Farm briefly. I had no luck with the Greater White-fronted Goose nor the Pink-footed Goose, but did have my FOS CACKLING GOOSE fly in while I was there. Can you pick it out of the photo?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another great day at the Bashakill

  1. Deb Kral says:

    BEAUTIFUL image of the Peregrine, John. Love the background colour!!!!!

Leave a Reply

