Orange County Pink-footed Goose Continues

Pink-footed Goose 3/2/13

Pink-footed Goose 3/2/13

This morning, following a two hour search, I relocated the Pink-footed Goose on a pond a short distance from where it was yesterday. I had checked this location twice previously this morning, finding only a few geese. At just after 11am, I found at least 500 geese at this spot, the PFGO among them. Earlier this morning I had met several friends and some new birders at the Camel Farm. With only a few geese present we exchanged numbers and spread out around the valley. I was able to reach them all and they all got to see the goose. The best part of the day occurred when I later returned to the Camel Farm to try to find a Greater White-fronted Goose that had been found by others this morning. When I arrived there I found three people searching the now thousands of geese for the Pink-footed. They asked if I had seen it. I told them it wasn’t here today, but I would take them to it. They were thrilled, as they had just arrived after driving all the way from Chattanooga, Tennessee! They had left Friday morning at 3am and drove all the way to New Jersey where they spent the night and got their life Barnacle Goose this morning. From there up to Orange County for the PFGO. When we pulled up to the pond and the goose was still there, well I can’t remember seeing happier birders. In all, 19 people got to see the goose today. Also of note were at least 5000 flyover Snow Geese this morning, the three Tundra Swans (relocated briefly at Oil City Road) and the above mentioned Greater White-fronted Goose. If you are still coming for the goose, just keep trying all the fields and ponds along rt 12 between Turtle Bay Road and the Camel Farm. Though not found early, the bird has been reliable at water by late morning the last three days. Good luck!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Orange County Pink-footed Goose Continues

  1. You made us pretty darn happy too John! Thanks again, what a beautiful bird!

  2. Jeff Nicol says:

    I would love to see the Tundra Swans…may hit Liberty Loop early am and hope for the best 🙂

  3. Jeff Nicol says:

    Other than the day I saw the Hoary at Scott’s, the word luck and my birding have not gone hand in hand lately LOL

  4. Jeff Nicol says:

    I did have a good day at the Shawangunk Grasslands today, so all is well 🙂

  5. Justin says:

    hey John. My 5 year old and I are on the road now from Central Massachusetts to hopefully find this life bird. If you get on the bird today or catch wind of. It could you please call me? 7742495684. thank you.

  6. Jeff Nicol says:

    Justin, you must be the guy i met at the Red Headed Woodpecker spot Sunday. Hope you found the Goose.

Leave a Reply

