Recent Happenings

American Kestrel feeding on a small rodent

American Kestrel feeding on a small rodent

light-phase Rough-legged Hawk

light-phase Rough-legged Hawk

Dark-phase Rough-legged Hawk

Dark-phase Rough-legged Hawk

Yellow-bellied Sapsucker at Arlene Borko's feeders

Yellow-bellied Sapsucker at Arlene Borko’s feeders

With the temps a little warmer the last couple of days, I’ve been out searching for some new year birds. As I searched I came upon another Hermit Thrush at the Bashakill. Arlene Borko called to inform me she had a Yellow-bellied Sapsucker coming to her feeders. I was able to get over to see it. I went up county today to try for some hawks. They were plentiful today. I had 5 Red-tailed Hawks, 3 Red-shouldered Hawks, 2 Rough-legged Hawks (one each), and an American Kestrel. I also found 2 Bald Eagles in the Beechwoods area as well. The Rough-leggeds and Kestrel were new for the year for the county for me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recent Happenings

  1. Peter Wulfhorst says:

    John, do you know if there are any Evening Grosbeaks or Pine Grosbeaks being seen in Sullivan County? Thanks.

  2. Peter,
    I am sorry to say that neither species have been seen recently. We are hoping for some to come through on the backswing. If they do, I will post to my blog, here’s hoping! John

Leave a Reply

