Westchester revisited

Clay-colored Sparrow

Clay-colored Sparrow

Clay-colored Sparrow at Marshlands Conservancy 1/17/13

Clay-colored Sparrow at Marshlands Conservancy 1/17/13

This morning I headed south again spurred on by recent posts from the Rye area. I had a target list of ten species this morning and was successful in finding six of them. The beach off Rye Playland was more active than my last trip. Highlights included 3 Canvasback, 4 Lesser Scaup, Bufflehead, Red-breasted Mergansers and regularly expected ducks all on Playland Lake. On the sound, Common Goldeneye, RED-THROATED LOON, LONG-TAILED DUCK and HORNED GREBE were all seen as well as Brant, gulls, Common Loon, Great Cormorant and the expected ducks. From Rye Beach I went to Marshlands Conservancy for some more targets. I spent a lot of time there and it was quite birdy. Highlights included many sparrows, Red-breasted Nuthatch, Turkey, Hairy and Downy Woodpeckers. The abundance of birds kept me hopeful for my targets. I was never able to find the Orange-crowned Warbler. When I was just about ready to give up, I tried the north end of the long field one last time for sparrows. I immediately found the CLAY-COLORED SPARROW accompanied by Tree, Song, and White-throated Sparrows, as well as one Field Sparrow. I was able to get some decent pictures. A good day of birding.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Westchester revisited

  1. Matt Zeitler says:

    That Clay-colored Sparrow is a beautiful little bird – nice photos.

  2. Deb Kral says:

    Hurray! So glad you were able to locate the Clay-colored, wish that Orange-crowned wasn’t so elusive!!

  3. suzanne o'rourke says:

    Thank you John for showing my husband where you saw the clay-colored sparrow. I went to the area and photographed many other sparrows until quite suddenly the clay-colored popped up on a limb in front of me and literally posed for 2 shots…side view and front view and then flew off!

    • Suzanne,
      What a surprise to hear from you. I looked for you both, but couldn’t find you. I went back to the Office building and found your husband. I was hoping you would turn up and get to see the Clay-colored and am glad you did! Can’t help but wonder how you knew it was me though? Best, John

Leave a Reply

