Great Egret

Great Egret in Wurtsboro 12/16/12

Great Egret in Wurtsboro 12/16/12

I was birding in Woodbourne this morning, sorting through the hundreds of waterfowl in the fields and on the river. The birds remained about the same as Friday, but were split between fields on the east and west sides of the river. There were two Snow Geese this morning, and I was unable to find the hybrids I had seen Friday. As I sorted through the birds, I received a call from Arlene Borko informing me she had found a GREAT EGRET on a pond in Wurtsboro. I headed down to see if I could find it. It was still present and I got some shots of the bird. Later Arlene called to say the bird had just flown away. It was probably only present a couple of hours at most. This is only the second winter (December) record of this species in the county.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

