Redhead

Hen Readhead 12/8/12

Hen Readhead 12/8/12

Juvenile REDHEAD drake in Wurtsboro 12/8/12

REDHEAD Hen in Wurtsboro 12/8/12

This morning the county was so fogged in that I was unable to see Yankee Lake. I decided if there was anywhere that I could see birds it would be the Bashakill. As I had expected, the Bashakill was under the level of the low clouds and fog. I stopped and checked out Scott Baldinger’s feeders where I found ten Common Redpolls and a Pine Siskin among the more common feeder birds. Hunters had most of the waterfowl moving already, so only a few Mallards and Canada Geese were seen. I moved on to the Deli Fields. The place was jumping as usual. The huge flocks of House Finches, Tree Sparrows and Dark-eyed Juncos continued. Also seen were American Goldfinch, Song Sparrows, Carolina Wrens, Chickadees, Cardinals and five Common Redpolls. A Red-tailed Hawk was the only raptor seen this morning. I moved on to a friends home in Wurtsboro. Checking out some ponds, I found the usual waterfowl. As I scanned through the birds, I found a duck that I couldn’t initially ID. It was floating with its head tucked, but I thought it was a possible REDHEAD. I got out my books, but the bird did not match the photos. It didn’t take long, as the bird became active that I had a positive ID of a REDHEAD Hen. That plumage was not in any of my books and I hadn’t personally ever had the bird at that stage. All the hens I have seen were in spring here in the county when they appear quite pale and cinnamon colored. When the bird became active, the bi-colored bill separated by a white line was clearly evident. The head color was nearly chocolate brown. Redhead is uncommon in Sullivan County, so it was a great find. I was able to reach Arlene Borko, Scott Baldinger and Lance Verderame, all of whom were able to get to see the bird. Great morning again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

