A great day of birding in Orange County

The Sandhill Crane Family at Mission Lands Road 12/3/12

The Sandhill Crane Family at Mission Lands Road 12/3/12

This morning I headed down to the Black Dirt Region of Orange County to try to find the SANDHILL CRANES that had been seen by my friend Rob Stone yesterday and originally found by the Mearn’s Bird Club field trip on Saturday. I searched the entire area with out success. As I returned to Mission Lands Road (where they were seen) I spotted the Sandhills In flight in the distance. They flew right into the field where they had been over the weekend. Dave and Sharon Baker and Charley and Carol West arrived shortly after and all had good looks at the birds. We even had some photo opts. Later after everyone left, the cranes actually worked their way much closer. At that time Debbie Kral and several others arrived and also had great views. Oil City Road at Liberty loop had some ducks, mostly Green-winged Teal and Mallards. The Camel Farm had many geese, but nothing of note except three Northern Shovelers. Skinner Lane and Indianna Roads had tremendous numbers of Horned Larks. Charley and his wife also saw several Snow Buntings, but I missed them. Many American Kestrels, Northern Harriers, Red-tailed Hawks and Turkey Vultures rounded out the raptor list. Great day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A great day of birding in Orange County

  1. Matt Zeitler says:

    Sounds like a great day of birding indeed! I made it out to Mission Lands road after work today and found the birds…they were very far out, but I got decent looks in my scope. What big beautiful birds!

  2. Jeff says:

    I was there all morning Sunday and did not see any cranes. Maybe they will still be there this weekend.

    • I noticed that they were seen at Liberty Loop as well. When I first arrived at Missionlands, they were no where to be found, later they flew in from the direction of Oil City Road.

      ________________________________

  3. Jeff says:

    I may head back Saturday and see if they are still around.

Leave a Reply

