Yet another great day of fall birding

Black Bear at the Summitville Hawk Watch

Great Horned Owl at the Deli Fields

Lincoln’s Sparrow at the Deli Fields 9/17/12, one of many.

This morning I went directly to the Deli Fields at the Bashakill. We have been having great success there lately and I wanted to see what else I could find. Birds actually seemed to have thinned out somewhat (warblers) but many birds were abundant, especially sparrows. I had 9 Lincoln’s Sparrows alone, as well as Chipping, Song, Swamp and Field Sparrows. Common Yellowthroats were everywhere as were Indigo Buntings. As I walked the wash, I heard two American Kestrels going crazy. I immediately discovered the source of their ire. A GREAT HORNED OWL was perched in the open, being harrassed by both the kestrels and a Sharp-shinned Hawk. What a sight. I was able to let several fellow birders know of the owls presence and everyone had great looks. I then went to the hawk watch where things were initially slow. In the second hour, I heard an Oak Tree rattling. I knew what that meant from past experience. I found the shaking tree and waited until a large BLACK BEAR came out into the opening around the tower. He foraged for some time, hearing my camera beep, but not being able to figure out where it was coming from. Many pics! The hawk watching then picked up and though not as good as recent days, I ended with 135 raptors. Great day overall.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Yet another great day of fall birding

  1. scott says:

    Loved the Black Bear shot!! I can’t get over how great the bird watching over at the Deli Fields has been. The Mastersons, Joe Trapani, Sharon and Dave Baker and I were stunned at how close we were to a N Harrier flying low right in front of us (within a few feet!) by the first field. Thanks for heads up on the GHO. Best look I’ve had at one in quite awhile!
    Scott

  2. Deb Kral says:

    Beautiful image of the Lincoln, John! Seeing the Northern Harrier was awesome and thanks so much for the heads up on the GHO!

  3. Sean says:

    Beautiful photographs, John!

  4. Jeff says:

    Can someone give me directions to the Summitville Hawk watch? Love the bear photo by the way, are they often seen near the Hawk watch? Good thing you were up in a tower!!

    • Hi Jeff,        You have to be a member of Sullivan Audubon in order to attend the hawk watch.   This is per our agreement with the DEC for insurance purposes.  If you would like to become a member, just go on line for the information at  sullivanaudubon.org  Best, John

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

