Fall Migration has begun.

my first fall migrant, one of two Least Sandpipers at Morningside Park 7/7/12

This morning, 7/7/12, with a Little Stint in Rhode Island and a Spotted Redshank in Oregon, I needed to get out and do something. Though this is an early date for shorebirds to show up in Sullivan Co., I decided to check out conditions at Morningside Park to see if it will be good for shorebirds within the next week or two when they should be arriving. The islands have begun to rise out of the lake and there is habitat for shorebirds. I kayaked out to check things out. I was pleasantly surprised to find some shorebirds. The largest area of mud flats had 11 Killdeer, 6 Spotted Sandpipers and 2 Least Sandpipers! The Killdeer and Spotteds are obviously breeders and offspring, but the Least Sandpipers are definately fall migrants. I had my last northbound Least Sandpiper only 5 weeks ago on 6/2. Morningside Park has tremendous potential over the next three months. A great spot for shorebirds, gulls and terns, you never know what you might find here. I can’t wait to see what will show up.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fall Migration has begun.

  1. Matt Zeitler says:

    Wow, fall migration already!? That sounds like a great spot, is it located in Fallsburg NY? I just google it and it looks like it is off the Monticello exit off of Route 17…I am looking forward to exploring it.

    • Its actually a bit farther than that, being just between Hurleyville and Loch Sheldrake. It is only a mile from the Sullivan County Community College. I have recorded 18 species of Shorebirds, 3 species of terns and 4 species of gulls among many others there. Last year, it was exceptional (as it was everywhere) and I had all of the forementioned except 1 tern and 1 shorebird. If you continue to watch my blog, you will see when things start to pick up a little later in the season. Check the reports from last year for some shots of some of the birds, and what appeared when.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

