Bashakill 5/23/12

The Bashakill Channel heading west from Haven Road.

With migration either over or at a dead stand still, I’ve been kayaking the channel at the Bashakill the last couple of days to see whats out there. So far I’ve only found one Pied-billed Grebe, but the vegetation is so high so early this year they are tough to see. Common Gallinule numbers are good. Yesterday kayaking east from the Main Boat Launch to Haven Road. This is about 2 1/2 miles each way. Counting only in one direction, I had 15 Common Gallinule. The day before heading west from the boat launch to Westbrookville, I had six. I believe this to represent at least 20 pairs of Common Gallinule. While observing the Osprey on the nest and its mate flying overhead, a third Osprey joined the male for several minutes. This adds further evidence that there is a second pair nesting somewhere to the far east at the Bashakill. This may be somewhere near the Great Blue Heron Rookerey or even beyond. This makes several times that an extra bird or pair have been seen. It is really a great experience to kayak the Bashakill, the beauty and solitude are remarkable. With the upcoming holiday weekend, the solitude part will be missing as many will be out enjoying the Bashakill.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bashakill 5/23/12

  1. scott says:

    Hey John,
    I’m convinced you’re right about a 2nd pair of Osprey at the Bashakill. Yesterday, I feel we had 4 Ospreys as we made our way around the Bashakill. The fact you’ve seen 3 at same time convinces me even more. BTW, I observed a Pied-billed Grebe from the south side of the Haven Rd bridge yesterday morning around 6:45am as I waited for Warren Cairo’s group from Cape May to arrive.
    Scott

    • I think we are both right about the Osprey.  Glad you got to see a Pied-billed Grebe.   They are tough right now, but soon we should see some chicks, can’t wait for that.  I had my first Wood Duck with 8 ducklings the other morning.  John

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

