Orange County Sanderlings! 8/31/11

After a great morning of birding in Orange County, I had returned home to check out shorebirds here (not many today). I was at Morningside when I received a call from Ken McDermott informing me he had found seven SANDERLING on Turtle Bay Road near New Hampton. I zoomed down to find the birds still present. I also had 4 Semipalmated Plover, 1 Stilt Sandpiper, 6 Lesser Yellowlegs, 9 Killdeer and 3 Least Sandpipers. I’ve attached a photo (so-so) of the Sanderlings. Note the pale white color and the black shoulder check on birds positioned to show it. Thanks Ken!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

